A for Effort, B for Execution, A for Taste

Within the last few months, a MS Center in Sacramento received a huge grant, to do day long programming for those living with multiple sclerosis, by creating the Mercy MS Achievement Center. It’s an amazing opportunity, and I’m really excited to get to be a part of the beginning of the center’s existence. However, when my living room looks like this due to work:

Image

I find myself looking forward to my upcoming trip home, to Hawaii, even more. As much as I love the orange…this view will be much more welcomed.

Image

My craving for home, led me to use the last can of SPAM my friend got me for the holidays last year sometime. For about half a second, I was worried it may have expired…then I remembered it was SPAM and that I had until 2016 (no joke). I decided to switch it up, to make an easy, on the go breakfast option for my first day at the Mercy MS Achievement Center, and just to have around. Thus we got Breakfast Musubi!

Image

What you need (8 musubi):
1 can low-sodium spam, sliced into 8 pieces
2 cups rice, cooked (I used half white half brown)
2 seaweed sheets (also known as nori)
8 eggs

IMG_4546

Heat a pan over medium high heat with some olive oil spray.  Crisp the spam on each side. It’s already cooked, but you want to create a crispy edge, and for it to be warm throughout if you’re going to eat it right away. Once they are browned on each side, take them from the pan and place them on a plate. In the same pan, spray a little more olive oil and crack eggs, trying to keep them as close to the size of the spam as possible. Some people cut the can so you can crack it in the middle, like this blog, but I couldn’t master that and just ended up folding the egg some when I was building my musubi. I stuck forks into the yolks to crack them so I could cook the egg all the way through. If you’re eating it right away (and don’t mind an extremely messy meal), I’d totally keep it as an over easy egg. The best sauce is an egg yolk.

IMG_4547

Now it’s time to assemble! Get your musubi maker ready, and cut your seaweed into three long strips per sheet. I lay wax paper down to build on, but to each their own. Lay the seaweed down first, then place the musubi maker on top. I use a little water on my fingers to lightly coat the inside of the maker. This will prevent rice from sticking. Layer the spam first, then the egg then some rice, press down hard with the other part of the maker, and wrap the seaweed around top. A little water on your fingers to seal the seaweed can be helpful.

IMG_4549

Just like that you’ve made some balanced breakfast. It may not be the healthiest protein, but you could totally make these with chicken or another type of meat. Musubi are a great on-the-go meal any time of the day and you can put almost anything with the rice and seaweed.

Happy Aloha Friday! I’m off to Tahoe for the weekend, so hope you have something fun planned too!

Leave a Reply

